God is Speaking, but Are You Listening?

Alright, so there were a few times in the Bible when God spoke to His people audibly. While he still may do this today, he has not revealed Himself in this way to me. Honestly, most of us would freak out if He did.

How do I know God is speaking?

Well, I wasn’t always so sure. Many years ago I spent most my days in a drunken stupor. Some of the time I was fighting panic attacks. Other times, I was fighting the voice in my head quietly calling for me to, “Come home.” How do I know it was God? Mainly because it was the only peace I ever felt. There’s no life that will give you peace other than living a life for Christ. Don’t get me wrong. Your car will still break down. You will most likely still argue with your spouse, and your boss may still fire you. The difference is things just won’t affect you as they once did. When your car breaks down, you know God will provide a way to fix it. You and your spouse may be able to work things out with more ease and flexibility. And hey, if you lose your job, you are certain God just has a greater plan for your life.

I love this verse:

Deuteronomy 31:8
“And the LORD, He is the One who goes before you. He will be with you, He will not leave you nor forsake you; do not fear nor be dismayed.”

For years, while I was struggling with alcoholism, anger, and other depressions, God, in His gentleman-like way beckoned for me to “Come home.”

Can you really and truly have peace in this crazy world?  Yes, but you have to start trusting and believing in the Creator of all things.

Leave a Reply

