Faith to Move Mountains, but Can it Move Me?

It’s amazing to me that some things take no effort for us to believe in. I trust that if I turn the switch, a light will come on. I trust that when I go to sleep I will wake up in the morning. I trust that as I am driving, the other drivers will stay in their lanes (until someone proves me wrong). There are a lot of things we put our trust in on a daily basis; things that could fail me at any moment. Why, then, is it so difficult to trust God who never fails?

Jesus says:

Mark 11:23
“For assuredly, I say to you, whoever says to this mountain, ‘Be removed and be cast into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart, but believes that those things he says will be done, he will have whatever he says.”

Surely, he doesn’t really mean a mountain?

Well, he probably does, but don’t miss His point. I think Jesus is more concerned with the latter half of the verse, “Are we full of doubt?” I think a lot of times we are like the disciples who followed Jesus. We read God’s Word. We talk to God in prayer and yet we fail to take Him at His Word, or better yet, we limit God and believe that it is impossible for Him to help us. Our problems are just too big. Jesus says in Matthew that “if you have faith as a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you.” (Matt. 17:20).

A mustard seed is only 1-2mm in diameter. That’s all the faith I need for God to do the rest. And that’s the key. It’s not really for us to do anything. All we have to do is trust God even the teensiest bit and He will do the rest. It’s giving everything to Him and saying, “Ok, here’s my problem. I don’t know how this is going to be resolved, but I’m giving it to you to work out for me.” And He will, because He loves us. It may not be how we imagined, but He will do what He says. He always does.

In our lives, there will be many times when our hands will be completely tied in a particular situation. All we can do is garner up our mustard seed faith, pray, and keep on believing that God is who He says He is.

Leave a Reply

