Lions, Tigers, and Fears, Oh My!

Remember when you were little and your mom or dad put you to bed and as soon as they turned off the lights, the creepiest evils spilled out from the closets and from underneath the bed ? I remember it like it was yesterday. Every ghoul, alien, Bloody Mary, and skeleton laughed as my parents shut the door behind them and left me to their evil devices. Isn’t it strange how now, as adults, we feel darkness all around, and the lights aren’t even off! It can be a little unsettling.

It is said that 90% of what we fear will never happen. Yeah, well I’m still worried about the other 10. Is it just me or did the fears of childhood grow into real complex monsters that have the ability to take over our mind and make us entirely ineffective? It’s a good thing Jesus came as a “Light unto the world” (John 8:12).

Fear can come in so many ways, but 2 Timothy 1:7 says, “For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” Romans 8:15 says, “For you did not receive the spirit of bondage again to fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption by whom we cry out, ‘Abba, Father’.”

Look at that word bondage. It means enslavement, in chains, servitude. That’s no way to live. Actually, it’s not even living at all!

There were times in my life that I became stagnant because of fear. I would be so choked up by anxiety that I wouldn’t even want to leave the house. Some nights I’d even drink myself into a stupor just to escape. My personal fears manifested themselves because of the dangerous lifestyle I was living. Whatever your fear is I am here to tell you that you can have freedom today. Isn’t that great news?

If God says that He hasn’t given you a spirit of fear then He intends to rid you of that fear, but you have to call on His name. He wants you to “allow the peace of God to rule your heart” (Colossians 3:15) Stop allowing fear to take precedence. Otherwise, you will never fulfill God’s purpose for your life. Search out His Word and allow Him to fill your life with a Light that will never fade.

Leave a Reply

