If God is Real Than Why Do Bad Things Happen?

Okay, first of all, I’m not even going to try to answer that question because I’m not a theologian. But I do know that sometimes when we look at the world and all it’s pain and sadness, we quietly ask, “Lord, where are you? Are you really real?” We may never know why bad things happen, but thankfully, we can know how good our God is if we go into the Word to find out for ourselves.

The Bible is full of stories of God’s love for His people. To tell you how good God is would take a lifetime (which is why, in my humble opinion, Heaven just has to be forever). So, if you were ever one to ask the question about God being real, I beseech of you to read Job 38-41. It truly does show the awesome character of God.

Let me just catch you up to speed real quick.

Job was a man who loved the Lord. Satan came to God one day and said (and I paraphrase), “I bet your man Job would curse you if you ‘stretched out your hand and strike everything he has’.” God said, “Alright.” And God took away everything this man had, his sons and daughters, workers, cattle, his home, everything. His friends and wife couldn’t understand why Job still gave thanks to the Lord. They mocked him for continuing to trust God after what had happened to him. Job knows who His God is. He knows his God if faithful, even in hard times, even when there is absolutely nothing left. If you only hear one thing, hear this: The only thing that we can consistently count on in this world is God and His endless love for us.

So look at some of the things God says to Job to show him (and us) that He is in control and who are we to question His might.

•”Where you there when I laid the earth’s foundation?” (38:4)
• “[to the waves] This far you may come and no farther; this is where your waves halt.” (38:11)
• “Have you ever given orders to the morning or shown the dawn its place?” (38:12)
• “Who can tip over the water jars of the heavens?” (38:37)
• “Does the eagle soar at your command and build his nest on high?” (39:26)
I love this verse from Isaiah 55:8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD. 9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth,so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

It’s just so true. Are we so prideful as to think that we know best? That we have all the answers? I can almost hear God chuckle as He tells Job, “Tell me if you know all this… Surely, you know, for you were already born! You have lived so may years!” (vs.18, 21)

Boy does God have such patience for us. Imagine just a regular earthly king on his throne putting up with such ignorance, questioning his authority. Hey, I can’t stand it when my students do that to me!

I know we want to know the “Why?” to every conundrum, every problem in this world. I won’t even try to pretend that it is easy to stop, because it’s not. But again, go to God’s Word, find out who He is, trust that He will do as He says, and live in peace knowing that He has everything under His control. We can be free from worry!

2 thoughts on “If God is Real Than Why Do Bad Things Happen?

  1. Josh B says:

    Hey Jennifer, thanks heaps for blogging this. It’s really inspiring to read about people trusting in the Lord despite their earthly situation. I especially like how you encourage people to search for God themselves and not just to take your word for it. Be blessed, your brother in Christ, Josh

Leave a Reply

