Oh, the Stories You Tell

I often wonder what the people who used to know me think of me now, all this talk about Jesus must be very strange to them especially because they’ve seen me at my worst. It’s a good thing God uses our worst to show the world His best.

I can’t even begin to go into detail the mess my life was, a loser for sure. By 19, I had been kicked out my house and I dropped out of college. In the next few years, I lived in about 8 different places often sleeping on floors, couches, and even garages. I probably had the same amount of jobs as well. Life was far from what I had imagined. A party girl without reservations, I got into plenty of trouble and I probably ruined every relationship and burned every bridge I came across. I was far from the little girl who gave her life to Jesus at age 3. It took me about 10 years to finally wake up.

So, why do I say all this? Because I don’t want you to miss out on another day of the life God has for you.

It’s imperative that Christians show the world what God has done for them. He isn’t some figment of our imagination. He isn’t some comforting bedtime story. His Words are “living and active” (Hebrews 4:12).

Colossians 3:7-8 says, “You used to walk in these ways, in the life you once lived. But now you must rid yourselves of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from your lips.”

This was me, full of anger, rage, malice, slander, filthy language, and MORE! But now, oh, man, I can’t even begin to tell you all God has done. Look, life isn’t perfect. I’m not perfect! But with Jesus I have joy, peace, and love that could never have been found in my old life, everything else was just a poor, worthless substitute that never fulfilled, never satisfied. I am free indeed!

If you have a story of what God has done, share it with someone today so that they too may know freedom.

Psalm 66:5
Come and see what God has done, how awesome his works in man’s behalf!

One thought on “Oh, the Stories You Tell

Leave a Reply

