Joy Comes in the Mo{u}rning

I’ll admit, some weeks I am on some kind of roller coaster. I go from fear to joy to anxiety to peace like nothing. It’s so exasperating that I even turned off Yahoo as my default browser and unplugged my TV. Let’s see how long that lasts. However, one good thing has come out of this. My relationship with Christ is growing stronger.

Is it worth it, then? To suffer pain? Every moment of it.

It’s not as crazy as it seems. It’s just that I know that my joy is coming. My peace and all the other promises of God are on their way. The closer I get to God the more breakthrough I achieve. It’s not to say that one day everything will be perfect. It won’t be. Well, not until Heaven anyway, but I know that God does want me and you to experience happiness while on this side of eternity. Either way, all this negative emotion has got me wanting joy like never before. I even pray I’ll get to the point like Paul to say, “Consider it pure joy when you face troubles” (James 1:2). And we all know where that will bring us. But, right now, I’m just trying to keep my joy while going through the mourning.

So, why is joy so important?

The answer can be found in Proverbs 17:22: “A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones.” Lord knows I don’t want to feel crushed! I want to be so joyful that I don’t even need a doctor. I’ll have “The joy of the Lord [as my] strength” (Nehemiah 8:10).

I have learned that for whatever trial I am going through or for any negative emotion that is attacking, I need to look up the exact opposite of the word in a Concordance and pray God’s promises over my life. Go on! Give it a try. Here are some verses to get you started:

Grief- Job 8:21 “He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy.”
Sadness-
Psalm 30:11 “You turned my wailing into dancing; you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy.”
Unforgiveness-
1 Peter 4:8 “…Love covers over a multitude of sins.”


Leave a Reply

