When the Fire Goes Out

Sometimes I am the Richard Simmons of Christianity. I am on fire for God, hootin’ and hollerin’ with “Woohoos” and “Amens”. Then, suddenly, my fire is snuffed out and I am boring, ole me once again. It’s very frustrating. I love the joy, boldness, and courage I have when I’m on fire for God.

So, why does the fire go out?

This is not necessarily any fault of my own nor God’s for that matter. There’s not any sin or disobedience. I know, because I checked with Him. So, for a week, I wander around asking, “Where are you God? I don’t feel you. I don’t sense you.” And all of a sudden I’m struck with doubt.

I find myself like David in Psalm 13 saying, “1 How long, O LORD? Will You forget me forever? How long will You hide Your face from me? 2 How long shall I take counsel in my soul, Having sorrow in my heart all the day? How long will my enemy be exalted over me?”

Like David, I know the truth in God’s word. I know He will never leave me nor forsake me. I know he’s there just as before. However, I think there are times when God wants to force us past emotions. He wants us to get to the point where we trust Him no matter what, no matter how we feel. God is bigger than our emotions. If we struggle to converse with Him when we don’t “feel” Him, how are we ever going to stay near to Him when the storms really hit hard?

The key to overcoming feelings is to continually trust God even if we don’t necessarily see, hear, or feel Him. At the end of the Psalm David says, “5 But I have trusted in Your lovingkindness; My heart shall rejoice in Your salvation.
6 I will sing to the LORD, Because He has dealt bountifully with me.”

Because of Christ’s ongoing love, we should never be lacking in praise or thanksgiving.

One thought on “When the Fire Goes Out

Leave a Reply

