Use Your Gift, Start a Fire

For this season of my life, God has me seeking Him on His will for my life. He hasn’t revealed it in whole, but in small glimpses.  Such as, possibly, a non-profit cafe ministry. Or, for instance, right now, I have decided that I am going to be on the leadership team of our young adult ministry. I decided to read up on the New Testament  to see what the great evangelist, Paul, told young newbie, Timothy. Two lessons stick out the most. One is gossip, which Paul mentions so many times, it can’t go without note. The second thing, and the one I will mention today, is our gifts.

Paul writes:

1 Timothy 4:14-  Do not neglect your gift, which was given you through prophecy when the body of elders laid their hands on you.
2 Timothy 1:6- For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands.

Simplified: Know your gift, use your gift, start a fire.

Most of us know the story of “The Talents” in Matthew 25. A king gives three servants 5, 2, and 1 bag of gold respectively. The ones with 5 and 2 doubled their amount for the king, but the man with 1 buried his. While this story is talking about money, we can use the story for our own talents, time, money, etc. Basically, Jesus is asking us, “What will you do for me while I am away?” At the end, will it be “well done” or “depart from me, I never knew you”?

There’s one last thing that I want to mention about Paul’s letter to Timothy.

1 Timothy 4:15, 16- Be diligent in these matters; give yourself wholly to them, so that everyone may see your progress. Watch your life and doctrine closely. Persevere in them, because if you do, you will save both yourself and your hearers.

Your gifts will definitely bring you happiness, but more importantly, they will “save your hearers”. Living like Christ and using your gifts have a far greater reach, a reach that we may never see this side of Heaven.

So, go on and start a fire in someone’s life today.

Leave a Reply

