The Pathway to Promises

I’ve spent the last few weeks reading the book of Joshua. This book is just full of God’s love for Israel. I’ve been stumped as to where I should begin. Over the next few weeks, I’m just going to move quickly through the book, outlining a few important messages that God relayed to me. I hope you too, will find encouragement.

Joshua was chosen to take over as leader when Moses died. God uses Joshua to fulfill his promise and bring his people to the Promise Land. I can’t help but wonder how Joshua felt about this. I mean God did have to remind him to “be strong and courageous” numerous times. In any case, God was about to fulfill the promise he had given to Abraham many years prior. This is some of what He told Joshua:

“I’ll give you every place where you set your foot…I will never leave you nor forsake you…Be careful to observe all the Laws I gave to Moses..Don’t let it depart from your mouth. Meditate on it day and night…Then you will be prosperous and successful.”

Joshua had no idea of the trials and battles he was about to face. All he had was the promises of God to stand on. He had to walk blindly, trusting only in the Almighty that He had a purpose, plan, and a way through every trial.

How are you trusting God with your life? Do you find it easy or confusing and frustrating? I feel more of the latter. I must admit, it’s not easy figuring out what thoughts are of God and what are of my own thinking. Even though God will give me the desires of my heart, I want to make sure they are lined up with Him. Father knows best, after all.

I’m glad we have the Book of Joshua to reference. Through this story, we can know the true and faithful, I AM. Be encouraged as we discover the story of Joshua and the amazing journey the Lord took him on. Stand firm on your promises. Let’s begin by truly knowing,  “He will never leave us nor forsake us” and we can stand “strong and courageous.”

One thought on “The Pathway to Promises

Leave a Reply

