Knowing or Doing?

Have you ever heard that teen, who when spoken to says, “I know, I know,” sighs and storms off?

I bet it’s not just kids, sometimes we have the same attitude towards the things of God. I don’t know if it’s because we become seasoned Christians or because some of our Christian walk is done in cruise control, but we seem to “know” a lot, and yet, do a lot less. For example, I know plenty of scriptures that talk about healing, blessings, the promises of God, and so on; and here’s how I know that I’m not living them: I don’t always have peace. I’m fearful. I don’t think I have enough money. I get worried. I get sick. And I quite simply stop believing in my promises. And that’s the worst one. Somehow, the devil convinces us that God has forgotten us, just as he did to the Israelites time and time again.

But let’s look at Abraham for a second. In Genesis 15:5 God takes Abraham and gives him the promise. He promises him offspring as numerous as the stars. And what did Abraham do with that promise?

“Abraham believed the Lord and he credited to him as righteousness.”

Believing the Lord is credited as righteousness?  So not believing is credited as unrighteousness? Wow. Did you know that the dictionary uses that word synonymously with sinful, wicked, and evil….And we thought we were perfect Christians 🙂

James goes as far as saying, “But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord.” (James 5:6,7)

Maybe it’s not that God hasn’t heard our prayers, but maybe there is something in us that just doesn’t believe. I mean really believe. I mean believing to the point of knowing with every ounce of your person. There have been plenty of times where I knew something with my mind, but the Holy Spirit revealed it to my heart. It’s very different, because when He does it, the results seem to be more permanent.

Ask God to check your heart. When God speaks, it shouldn’t be just another “I know, I know” response. Instead, we should seek God in order to become doers of the word and not just hearers.

Leave a Reply

