All the Glory

It’s very hard to separate ourselves from what we do. But in reality, everything we do and are able to do is because of God’s grace and mercy. Maybe that is easy for you. Maybe it’s easy to give God praise when he helps you to get a raise or when you receive accolades for a job well done.

Is it just as easy to give him glory when you don’t want to do something?

Let me give you an example. Last Sunday, I had to go to an open house for 3 hours at my school. There is nothing worse than having to go to work outside of your normal working hours. I mean, holidays and weekends off is one of the perks to being a teacher. Well, I was complaining about it and I was trying to pump myself up by saying, “Well, I only have to be there for 3  hours.” But then God awoken my heart to something else. He said, “Why don’t you do it for me?”

Now, I’ve heard this said before. There’s a scripture in 1 Cor. 10:31 that reads:

“So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.”

But these were just words until the Holy Spirit breathed life into them and all of a sudden it took on a whole new meaning in my soul. So, I repented and I went to work saying, “Lord, this is for you.” And you know what? I had a great time. I got to do something I never get to do. I got to talk to potential new students, parents, and I even gave a tour of the school. Maybe because of my attitude people will decide to enroll at our school, which will mean we still have our jobs; but, even better yet, maybe my attitude of joy and willingness to help will spread to just one person and just maybe God could use that to touch their heart in a way only He can.

Look, God can do whatever He wants, but for some reason He chose to use us. There is nothing we can do outside of His gifting, so in everything let’s praise His name and bring glory to Him in whatever we do.

Leave a Reply

