Your Attitude Stinks

I had a revelation and I just had to share. I don’t know. Maybe it will help someone out there somewhere.

I have an attitude problem.

Last week my attitude when from bad to down right inexplicable. It started off with me calling people names in my head. You know..When someone cuts you off, and you say, “Idiot.”Not out loud, of course, only in your head. Nothing wrong with that, right?

However, it got worse. I was soon calling everyone an idiot, and sadly, worse. I did all this for absolutely no reason whatsoever! I don’t know what was happening to me. I noticed this happen once before when I was watching too much TV with cursing in it. But this wasn’t the case, becaise htis month I had been fasting TV. All this time, I am supposed to be getting closer to God and His likeness, and now I was getting further.

And this is what shocked me the most. A week prior, I had had an awesome week. I really did feel close to God. I was thinking I could give up TV for good. I was praying about doing missions work over the summer. I was smiling, skipping, and just having an awesome time. It wasn’t any wonder that I stopped smiling or skipping when my attitude went sour. The strangest thing was the fact that I no longer wanted to go on a mission’s trip. I had lost all desire. Poof. Just like that. What happened?

The only person I could think of who had a pretty bad attitude was Jonah. He was furious that he had to go to the wicked city of Ninevah to warn the people of their impending doom. Jonah ran the other direction and ended up in the belly of a whale. God ended up giving him another chance and although, Jonah finally preached to the Nivevites, he was still angry! He sat sulking outside the city just waiting for its destruction. Jonah totally missed it. Jonah was called to be a prophet and he missed the point of his purpose all on account of his rotten temper.

We will never know what happened to the rest of Jonah’s life. Did he ask God for forgiveness once again? Did he go on to do great things? Did he ever find joy in living for God?

I don’t want my story to end so abruptly and on such a devastating note. We must be wise and do as Ecclesiastes 7 states: “Do not be quickly provoked in your spirit, for anger resides in the lap of fools.”

Once I realized that my dream to do missions in the summer was slowly vanishing, I quickly repented. I never want to miss out of God’s plan and chance to use my giftings because of a stinky attitude.

Hey, I’m no fool.

Leave a Reply

