Don’t Forget Where You Came From. Ditch it Altogether.

You may have heard that saying a million times, “Don’t forget where you came from.” Well, I had a kind of epiphany this morning. Why not? Why in the world do we hold on to who we once were? That’s not what God says. He says, “Forget the former things. Do not dwell on the past” (Is. 43:18). So why do we do it? Nostalgia? Fear? Insecurity?

Let me try to explain:

I gave my life back to Christ nearly 6 years ago. I was raised in the church but went away for quite sometime. From the beginning of my departure of the heart all the way to my return, many emotions and heartaches occurred. These things are part of everyone’s life, but these disturbances really have a way of shaping who you will become. I constructed walls to keep people out and I was always sure to be on the defense. Well, you live this way long enough and it sticks, even after giving your heart back to Christ. So, here I am 6 years later struggling with all the baggage I accumulated over the last decade or so. It’s almost as if I believe, somehow, this was my baggage to bear. I have to pay my penance, if you will, until I deserve to be free. We may never say it like that, but subconsciously, that’s how we live sometimes. Today, all that changed, almost instantaneously.

I was walking my dog and talking to God like I usually do. And God spoke to my heart.
“You are not who you once were.”
“What? Excuse me, God? I don’t understand.”
“That person you think you are because of your past, isn’t you. You are a new creation.”
“I’m a new creation? I’m a new creation! In that case I’m like a baby all over again. I can start all over. The past, all those things that happened, they don’t have to affect me anymore. They may have made me one way, but God has saved me in another.”

What revelation! What freedom! After Christ, everything, and I mean EVERYTHING is new. It’s your chance to start over. Stinky old sin. Doesn’t matter. It’s been cast as far as the east is form the west. Hurt. He’s got that too. He came to bind up our wounds. It’s done. All of it. You and I have the opportunity to start again. Why are will still living with the repercussions of our former selves and former sins? We are free. We can do and be whoever we want now! We can forget what other people have called us. Forget about what we have called ourselves! We can be all the things God has called us: blessed, co-heirs, righteous, children. Whatever God has called you to be, confess it today. Out-loud. Tell God, tell yourself, tell Satan who you truly are-a new creation in Christ Jesus!
“All things have passed away. Behold! All things are new” (2 Cor. 5:17).

One thought on “Don’t Forget Where You Came From. Ditch it Altogether.

  1. Robin Lewis says:

    Amen Jennifer! And we are also now children of God and co-heirs with Christ:
    For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God. The Spirit you received does not make you slaves, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.” The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children. Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory. (Romans 8:14-17 NIV)

Leave a Reply

