Action-packed

I don’t know if you know the story, but it’s likely you’ve seen a portrayal of Jesus’s grueling crucifixion on TV or in a church production somewhere. And while I too have seen this many times in plays and such, it’s hard for me to grasp what is really taking placehp-crossshadowI was reading through Matthew 27:25-50 and very briefly it discusses the events leading up to Jesus’s death on the cross. Even the best productions out there really can’t capture the feeling, the emotion, the rejection and ridicule taking place. So, I tried making it a little more personal in an effort to carry the message home.

How often have you been the subject of ridicule? How many times did people call you names or say things about you that were just outright lies? I know for sure that this has happened to me a lot. I also know that at times, my reaction to these scenarios has been downright embarrassing. I can’t tell you how many times I would fly off the handle in order to justify my actions, defend my character, or “prove” myself.

Now. Here’s this man. He’s been ridiculed. Flogged. Mocked. Made to be a fool. His best friends have turned against Him. He is naked and alone. And he just stands there. Quiet. He doesn’t become enraged. He doesn’t hurl insults back at them. He doesn’t think, “Oh! I can’t wait to say, ‘Told you so!’ ”  And the thing is, He actually is who He says He is. He is the Son of God. He could easily prove them wrong in an instant. One word and they would be forced to bow at His might and power. But He doesn’t say a thing. He just sits there and takes it. And most amazingly, He takes it all for us, even those flogging him, even those who do not believe. How many of us can say that we’ve showed such staunch composure? Surely, not I.

I don’t know what has happened in society, but we are real quick to repay evil for evil; and real quick to defend ourselves. Not Jesus. He showed all humility, all grace, and all love without saying a word. His actions said everything.

What are our actions saying? Are we fighting, or are we loving? Are we hurling insults, or bringing encouragement? Are we staying quiet when necessary, or blowing our peace on foolish talk? It’s time we asked ourselves, “Could our actions be saying much more?”

Let us try not to be reactive, but action-packed with love, instead.

Leave a Reply

